Lassurance car-to-kilometers-not-always-boring-not-in-Swiss

"Auto" insurance per kilometer still does not break in Switzerland

Economy: "auto insurance" per kilometer still does not break in Switzerland |

The insurance premium "auto", calculated according to the mileage traveled, appeared in Europe in the twentieth century, but remains relatively marginal in the Swiss market. Bâloise Assurances, one of the old Swiss leaders, founded the 2. May 1864, try its luck certainly, but with its German subsidiary "Friday", domiciled in Berlin. "We offer car insurance with our partner La Bâloise, but without including the mileage factor. That does not correspond to a need expressed by the customers ", observes Laurent Pignot, spokesman of the Touring Club Switzerland, association bringing together in Switzerland approximately 1,5 million members motorists.

All things being equal at the wheel, such as fatigue, a sudden fury, alcohol consumption or all three at once, a motorist rolling 20'000 km per year is a greater risk than one just 5000 km during the same period of time. This reality is a marketing asset, present on the European market since the last century. The "auto" insurance premium, calculated on the basis of the mileage traveled, can also stimulate civic choices, between the use of a private vehicle or public transport.

Common European examples of this type of offer. A price adapted to each kilometer traveled, this precision requiring the installation of a GPS box in the vehicle, object costing about fifty francs. The alternative of the packages generates a less precise billing, but ensures a flexibility in the use of the font. The kilometers of the package not covered by the insured are indeed carried over to the following year.

More potential in Europe than in Switzerland

The ambitions that Bâloise Assurances feeds in Germany are at the height of this market: about 47 million motor vehicles are registered in Germany. The Zurich daily NZZ estimates that the volume of premiums collected by Friday, with the system commonly called "pay as you drive", should climb to 100 million euros. The prospects are so promising that Bâloise Assurances has made an investment of 50 million francs in its activities in Germany, according to the site of financial information cash.ch German investors, close to the media branch, have also demonstrated their confidence in Friday early this year.

In this context, Bâloise Assurances seems to believe more in the potential of "pay as you drive" in the European Union than in Switzerland. But everything could evolve very quickly on the Swiss market, after having started so slowly.

Created: 08.11.2019, 20h10

source

Article free and without advertising, support us by sharing with your network:
Back to top

lassurance-auto-au-kilometre-ne-perce-toujours-pas-en-suisse

L’assurance «auto» au kilomètre ne perce toujours pas en Suisse

Économie : L’assurance «auto» au kilomètre ne perce toujours pas en Suisse |

La prime d’assurance «auto», calculée en fonction du kilométrage parcouru, est apparue en Europe au XXe siècle, mais reste relativement marginale sur le marché helvétique. Bâloise Assurances, un des vieux leaders suisses, fondé le 2. Mai 1864, tente sa chance certes, mais avec sa filiale allemande «Friday», domiciliée à Berlin. «Nous offrons une assurance auto avec notre partenaire La Bâloise, mais sans inclure le facteur du kilométrage. Cela ne correspond pas à un besoin exprimé par la clientèle», observe Laurent Pignot, porte-parole du Touring Club Suisse, association réunissant en Suisse environ 1,5 million de membres automobilistes.

Toute chose étant égale par ailleurs au volant, comme la fatigue, une soudaine furie, la consommation d’alcool ou les trois à la fois, un automobiliste roulant 20’000 km par an constitue un risque plus important que celui se contentant de 5000 km au cours du même laps de temps. Cette réalité constitue un atout de marketing, présent sur le marché européen depuis le siècle dernier. La prime d’assurance «auto», calculée en fonction du kilométrage parcouru, peut en outre stimuler des choix civiques, entre l’usage d’un véhicule privé ou les transports publics.

Exemples européens fréquents de ce type d’offre. Un prix adapté à chaque kilomètre parcouru, cette précision nécessitant l’installation d’un boîtier GPS dans le véhicule, objet coûtant une cinquantaine de francs. L’alternative des forfaits génère une facturation moins précise, mais assure une souplesse dans l’utilisation de la police. Les kilomètres du forfait non parcourus par l’assuré sont en effet reportés sur l’année suivante.

Plus de potentiel en Europe qu’en Suisse

Les ambitions que Bâloise Assurances nourrit en Allemagne s’avèrent à la hauteur de ce marché: environ 47 millions de véhicules automobiles sont immatriculés outre-Rhin. Le quotidien zurichois NZZ estime que le volume de primes encaissées par Friday, avec le système communément appelé «pay as you drive», devrait grimper jusqu’à 100 millions d’euros. Les perspectives s’avèrent si prometteuses que Bâloise Assurances aurait consenti un investissement de 50 millions de francs dans ses activités en Allemagne, selon le site d’informations financières cash.ch Des investisseurs allemands, proches de la branche des médias, ont en plus démontré leur confiance dans Friday au début de cette année.

Dans ce contexte, Bâloise Assurances semble davantage croire au potentiel du «pay as you drive» dans l’Union européenne qu’en Suisse. Mais tout pourrait évoluer très vite sur le marché helvétique, après avoir commencé si lentement.

Créé: 08.11.2019, 20h10

Source

Article gratuit et sans publicité, soutenez-nous en partageant avec votre réseau :
Retour haut de page